Mr. Professor

It seems like this date happened ages ago, but in true documentation style, I can’t leave it out! And unbeknownst to me, it truly is a pivotal date. If it wasn’t for Mr. Professor, I wouldn’t have experienced a man that was about to ROCK my world.

Fresh off my trip from Vegas, Mr. Professor showed up at my place on a Tuesday evening (July 15) to pick me up for our date. When I first saw him, I liked his height and his dress, but there was a professor dorkiness to him that made him appear less confident than his Tinder pics. He had a great smile though and I was eager to finally connect in person since our texting was such a great experience.

It was a nice night, so we started our walk downtown. When we were about a block away from my house, he points across the road and says that’s where his college daughter lives. Yikes! He was 48, so I get it, but that was a little close to home! Crazy connection.

On our way to Sushi, we make a pit-stop at a pub with a huge array of draft beer selections. I knew Mr. Professor had a love of IPA’s so I thought it would be a great place to land for a drink. We saddle up to the bar and just as we sit down he excuses himself to use the restroom. When he comes back, he ends up sitting one chair over from me. I was like, ok, that’s odd. His body language was leading me to believe he was nervous. He was a bit awkward, I could tell he hadn’t dated in 20 years. Poor guy. But for some reason I wanted to make him feel at ease. From what he had shared with me about his ex, he needed a little TLC. He ended up moving closer to me once he realized he was so far away. Silly guy.

One thing he did that kinda took me by surprise was his request to the bartender just as we sat down. He asked with total sincerity if the bartender could put a napkin over the retro peanut dispenser. The bartender kind of chuckled it off and did his best to steer the comment into a lighthearted conversation, but I could tell Mr. Professor was serious. I asked him if it was because he worked with food and the science behind preservatives and things like that. But he shrugged it off and denied that he had any food phobias due to his line of work. So maybe he was just hungry and didn’t want to eat before we got sushi? Whateves, I went with the flow on that one.

When we sit down for sushi, again, his body language was distant. His knees were pointing out even though all my body parts were facing him. We had some great sushi and quite a few cocktails. He was awkward, but I could tell he was just out of practice. I was only his second date after a 21-year marriage. After a few drinks he started to relax and the conversation definitely flowed more, but it felt more like the friend zone. He was open, honest and raw, but it was almost like I was his therapist not his date.

He pays for dinner – bonus! – then we proceed to another bar for a few more drinks. We sat much more closer together at the bar this time around. We pull out pictures from our phone and share.  It was a good game of show and tell. My knee was folded over my leg and was rubbing on his leg. I could tell he noticed, but no bold moves on his end.

We finally close out the place and head back to my place. It was a beautiful night so we sat on my porch. Right away he moves his chair to sit right across from me and puts my feet on his chest. It was a bold move and I liked that. We talk and laugh and carry on. I offered to give him a back rub so he slides over to me and sits on the ground. I could tell he needed the touch. Who doesn’t, really? I think we all starve for it. He had nice smooth skin.

It was getting late so we moved inside. We proceed to my bedroom where he announces, we are just going to mess around…meaning no sex. Alright, Mr. Professor, whatever you say. It was just a bit awkward to announce his intention. I think he was completely freaked out about the whole situation. For over 20 years, he had only touched his wife. I couldn’t imagine. But I was comfortable with just making out.

Then he pulls out some dual action massage gel and asks to rub my bare back. It was nice, but that shit he was rubbing on me was nasty. I don’t need stimulating aromas to get me aroused. It was quite clear I was working with a rookie. Messing around was nice but felt emotionally void. In all honesty, I kinda just felt like throwing this guy a bone. He had been through a lot. I’m such a sucker for those emotionally wounded men.

It was pretty late when we passed out. I woke up at 4am to his horrendous snoring. I ended up going to my couch and feeling a bit annoyed that he had stayed over. I tried to get back to sleep but soon I was watching the sun rise. It was in that moment that I decided that this wasn’t going to go far. He was a nice guy with a good heart, but we just weren’t a match.

So I decided to move on and get on Facebook and accept Mr. Magnetic’s request right then and there. I was so curious about this guy! And now I wouldn’t have to worry about it making things weird between Mr. Professor and I. Who knew that friend request would turn into so much more! I had no idea what was coming….

Mr. Professor and I ended things on a good note and continue to remain Facebook friends…

Leave a comment